Kansas's local wedding directory — 4,346 vendors across the state

Lawrence Wedding Venues: A Source-Checked Comparison

Local Guides

Lawrence Wedding Venues: A Source-Checked Comparison

By WeddingInKansas Team

Start with what a room can hold and what it costs, not with which venue looks best in photos. The eight options below are grouped by type. For each one we report only what its own site or the City of Lawrence states: event-space capacity (not total building occupancy), indoor/outdoor setup, catering and alcohol rules, accessibility, lodging, included rentals, and the booking contact. Where a site doesn’t say, we say so instead of guessing.

Downtown and near-downtown

Union Pacific Depot — City-managed, two rooms rented together

The City of Lawrence lists this 1900s rail depot at 402 N. 2nd St. The Community Room (24’ × 73’) seats 90 or holds 150 standing; the smaller Theater Room (12’ × 28’) seats 38 or holds 45 standing. The two rooms cannot be booked separately — you get the whole building. Listed amenities: Wi-Fi in both rooms, a 98” television with HDMI in the Community Room, a second HDMI-equipped television in the Theater Room, and a kitchenette with counters, a microwave and a full-size refrigerator. The page states a three-hour minimum, that general setup is provided at no charge, and that self-setup must happen inside your reserved window. Listed rate: $90/hour for the full facility. The page does not address catering, alcohol or accessibility. Reservations go through (785) 832-7920 or the Community Building at 115 W. 11th St. City of Lawrence: Union Pacific Depot rental details

Ask: How much of the rental time is usable for guests versus setup and teardown? Can caterers and alcohol service be arranged, and under what rules?

Carnegie Building — one larger room plus two galleries, rented together

The City lists the Carnegie Building at 200 W. 9th St. The Heritage Room is the main space; the East and West Galleries (32 seated / 49 standing each) come with it and cannot be booked separately. Full-facility capacity is listed as 150 seated or 200 standing. Listed amenities: Wi-Fi throughout, a projector screen, projector and AV system (no HDMI) in the Heritage Room, and a kitchenette with a sink and full-size refrigerator. Same three-hour minimum and free general setup as the Depot. Listed rate: $100/hour for the full facility. Catering, alcohol and accessibility are not addressed on the page. Reservations: (785) 832-7920 or the Community Building. City of Lawrence: Carnegie Building rental details

Ask: What is the realistic guest layout once tables, a dance area, catering service and accessible paths are all placed in the Heritage Room?

Community Building — a recreation facility with a reception history, details thin

The City describes this 1940 former armory at 115 W. 11th St. as now serving recreation and fitness uses, and states it “has been a popular place for everything from playing basketball to holding a wedding reception.” It lists meeting rooms with kitchenette access, a gymnasium, weight room and dance studio. The pricing shown on the page is for recreation-center membership and day passes, not event rental — the page does not give an event-rental rate. It does not state which room(s) are available for a reception, their capacity, or a wedding-specific policy. Reservations and office hours: (785) 832-7920, weekdays 8 a.m.–5 p.m. City of Lawrence: Community Building

Ask: Which specific room would host a reception, what does it seat, and is there a separate rental rate from the membership pricing shown online?

Cider Gallery — event gallery in the Warehouse Arts District

Cider Gallery’s own site lists weddings among the events it hosts, along with daytime events, social gatherings and celebrations of life, at 810 Pennsylvania St. The site references a “Preferred Caterers” list (suggesting outside catering is arranged through approved vendors) and an “Event Extras” page, but does not state capacity, indoor/outdoor configuration, alcohol policy or accessibility. It’s open to the public Tuesday–Friday, 1–5 p.m., unless privately booked. Booking is by tour request (Calendly link) or through the site’s contact page; phone (785) 304-4005. No pricing is listed. Cider Gallery

Ask: What is the seated and standing capacity for a wedding layout, is the space indoor-only, and what does the preferred-caterer list require or restrict?

Abe & Jake’s Landing — former industrial building on the river

Abe & Jake’s own site describes a downtown Lawrence venue in a former industrial building with exposed beams and tall windows. It lists a main space with a stage and dance floor, a second space with a fireplace, two private suites, a river-facing patio, a catering kitchen and “custom bar packages,” plus optional décor/linen rentals and AV equipment. The site does not state capacity, an indoor weather backup for the patio, or accessibility details. Booking is through a “Book A Tour” contact link. No pricing is listed. Abe & Jake’s Landing

Ask: What is the seated capacity for each space, is exclusive use of both spaces included, and which bar/linen/rental options carry an extra charge?

Venue 1235 — a larger event space in north Lawrence

Venue 1235’s site at 1235 N 3rd St. explicitly lists weddings among the events it hosts (along with birthday parties, concerts and celebrations of life). It describes a 6,000-square-foot climate-controlled main room with vaulted ceilings and exposed beams, a covered heated patio, and a fenced backyard area for outdoor use. The site states up to 300 guests with table seating for private events (a separate “up to 800” figure applies to unseated community events, not a wedding layout). Listed extras include a projector and concession-style add-ons (popcorn, pretzel and drink machines). Catering, alcohol and accessibility policies are not addressed. Booking: booking@venue1235.com or (785) 856-7800. No pricing is listed. Venue 1235

Ask: What is the actual seated capacity with a dance floor and catering line included, and what are the outdoor space’s weather-backup and curfew rules?

Countryside

Historic Taylor Barn — 1879 limestone barn, seasonal

Historic Taylor Barn’s site describes a limestone barn built in 1879 at 1827 E. 1150 Rd. (rural Douglas County, Lawrence address) as a rustic wedding venue, with outdoor ceremony and reception space shown in its photos. The site states it is “available May–October” and references a preferred-vendor list without specifying catering or alcohol rules. It does not state capacity, an indoor weather-backup space, or accessibility. Pricing is handled on a separate wedding-packages page not detailed in what we reviewed. Booking: (785) 550-9332 or the site’s contact form, described as scheduling a tour. Historic Taylor Barn

Ask: What is the covered or indoor backup plan if it rains, what is the seated capacity, and what does the wedding package include at the stated price?

Circle S Ranch & Country Inn — ranch venue with on-site lodging

Circle S Ranch’s site at 3325 Circle S Ln. describes a family-owned country inn and ranch offering both outdoor and indoor event spaces for weddings, family reunions and retreats, and identifies itself as a “Country Inn” with guest rooms on site — the only venue in this comparison with its own lodging. The site does not state capacity, indoor/outdoor weather backup, or catering/alcohol/accessibility details on the pages we reviewed; it points to a separate pricing page and an online date-availability tool. Booking: events@circlesranch.com or (785) 843-4124. Circle S Ranch & Country Inn

Ask: How many of the inn’s rooms are included or available to block for the wedding party and guests, and what is the reception space’s rain plan and capacity?

Compare the questions, not just the rooms

VenueVerified distinctionAsk before you tour
Union Pacific DepotTwo rooms, booked together; $90/hr listed; free general setup within a 3-hour minimum.Usable guest time vs. setup time; catering/alcohol rules.
Carnegie BuildingHeritage Room plus two galleries, booked together; $100/hr listed; AV and kitchenette included.Realistic layout once catering and dancing are placed.
Community BuildingCity confirms past wedding-reception use; no stated event-rental rate or room capacity.Which room, what capacity, and the rental rate vs. membership pricing.
Cider GalleryOwn site lists weddings; preferred-caterer list referenced.Capacity, indoor/outdoor limits, caterer requirements.
Abe & Jake’s LandingTwo connected spaces, river patio, catering kitchen and bar packages.Capacity, exclusivity of both spaces, add-on costs.
Venue 1235Up to 300 seated (private-event figure); covered patio and fenced yard.True seated capacity with dance floor; outdoor curfew/weather rules.
Historic Taylor Barn1879 limestone barn; seasonal, May–October.Rain backup, capacity, package contents.
Circle S Ranch & Country InnOnly option here with on-site lodging.Rooms available to guests; reception capacity and rain plan.

For every venue, request the current written rental agreement, exact event hours including setup/teardown, accessibility accommodations, food and beverage rules, and a room diagram sized to your guest count. Confirm the date in writing before making connected commitments (catering, rentals, hotel blocks).

The KU calendar matters more here than in most Kansas towns

Lawrence’s hotel supply is shaped by University of Kansas events, so check KU’s own calendars before locking a date and a guest hotel block.

KU lists its next universitywide commencement for Sunday, May 16, 2027, at 10:30 a.m. KU’s own site calls this “Commencement 2027” even though it opens by addressing “2026 graduates” — don’t be thrown by the label; the date is what matters for booking. The site also notes many school-level ceremonies fill the same weekend, so hotel demand extends well beyond that one date. KU Commencement

We could not retrieve a working primary schedule page for KU football home games at the time of writing — kuathletics.com’s schedule and news pages did not return readable content through our research tool. Check kuathletics.com’s football schedule directly for home-game Saturdays, and KU Housing & Residence Life for fall move-in weekend dates, before finalizing a date and hotel block — both can fill Lawrence-area hotels well outside downtown.

Guests and lodging

We have not source-checked lodging or guest-activity claims for this draft. Start with the Lawrence directory and see KC-metro hotel block planning for courtesy-block timing.

Marriage license and courthouse details

This guide doesn’t restate license rules. See the Kansas marriage license guide and courthouse wedding in Kansas for Douglas County specifics.

A practical next step

Bring the same one-page outline to every conversation: guest count range, ceremony-and-reception plan, which rooms or areas you need, anticipated vendors, and the hours you need before and after guests arrive. Ask each venue the same questions from the table above so the answers are actually comparable, and get your date in writing before booking anything that depends on it.

Sources reviewed September 10, 2026. Confirm current availability and rental terms directly.

Planning your Kansas wedding?

Try our free tools: a budget calculator with editable planning estimates and a 12-month planning checklist.

See the free tools
lawrencelocal-guidepillar