Kansas's local wedding directory — 4,346 vendors across the state

Topeka Wedding Venues: A Source-Checked Comparison

Venues

Topeka Wedding Venues: A Source-Checked Comparison

By WeddingInKansas Team

This page replaces an earlier version that presented Google star ratings as wedding recommendations without checking whether the listed businesses actually offer wedding or event rentals. What follows is drawn only from each venue’s own website or managing organization, with unknowns labeled as unknown. Two of the eight venues below are not inside Topeka city limits; their actual city is stated plainly. Browse the wider Topeka venue directory for additional leads that have not yet been checked against primary sources.

Historic buildings managed for private rentals (Topeka)

Great Overland Station

A restored 1927 railway station at 701 N Kansas Ave, Topeka (zip listed as 66608 by Shawnee County Parks, 66612 by The Beacon). The Beacon’s rental page lists three bookable rooms: the Grand Hall (about 4,700 sq ft, up to 264 standing or about 216 seated), the East Gallery (about 2,100 sq ft, up to 150 standing or about 120 seated), and The Loft (up to 48 seated). The page lists bar service, an equipped catering kitchen, AV support, WiFi, elevator access, getting-ready rooms, and on-site parking, but does not say which features are included with a particular room rental. Indoor only, with no outdoor space or rain plan described, and no lodging. Single rooms book online; multi-room events go through (785) 409-1223 or courtney@beacontopeka.com.

Ask: Which zip code is correct, and does a room rental include the catering kitchen and AV support, or are those separate add-ons?

The Dillon House

A restored historic house at 404 SW 9th St, Topeka, KS 66612, also managed by The Beacon, rented for “weddings, celebrations and gatherings” per its booking page. Three rooms are listed: the West Wing (about 955 sq ft, up to 80 standing or about 56 seated), the Study (about 860 sq ft, up to 70 standing or about 40 seated), and Capitol View (about 456 sq ft, up to 25 standing or about 16 seated). Bar service, catering packages, an on-site catering kitchen, a sound system with microphones, TVs, banquet tables and chairs, WiFi, a venue coordinator, a parking lot and security are included. Indoor only; no lodging. Single rooms book online; multi-room events go through (785) 409-1223 or courtney@beacontopeka.com.

Ask: Can two of the three rooms be combined for a larger seated reception, and which specific caterers and alcohol vendors are approved?

Gardens (Topeka)

Old Prairie Town at Ward-Meade Historic Site and Botanical Garden

A Shawnee County Parks site at 124 NW Fillmore St, Topeka, KS 66606, combining the 2.5-acre Ward-Meade Botanical Garden with an 1800s historic site that includes a replica 1854 log cabin and the Ward-Meade mansion. Its facility page states wedding packages are available and points to a dedicated wedding brochure, but the page itself gives no guest-capacity figures, indoor backup space, catering/alcohol rules, or included rentals. Paved accessible trails run through the garden. No lodging is mentioned. Book through parks staff contact Gena Brooks at gena.brooks@snco.us or 785-251-6993, who can supply the wedding brochure.

Ask: What are the seated/standing capacity limits in the wedding brochure, and is a covered or indoor rain plan included?

Kay McFarland Japanese Garden and Venue

Part of the Topeka Zoo campus at 635 SW Gage Blvd, Topeka, KS 66606. The zoo’s garden page describes dedicated “Venue Rental Spaces,” including a Gallery adjacent to an indoor Event Venue building, plus a Crane Tea House, with two garden entrances (Crane Gate and Turtle Gate). No capacity figures, catering/alcohol rules, accessibility details, or lodging are given on this page. It combines an outdoor Japanese garden with an indoor event building, but no rain-plan statement appears in the source. Inquiries go through the Topeka Zoo main office at 785-368-9180.

Ask: What is the seated/standing capacity of the Event Venue building, and is the outdoor garden usable as a ceremony site with an indoor rain plan?

Hotel ballroom (Topeka)

Maner Conference Centre — Sunflower Ballroom at Hotel Topeka at City Center

The hotel’s Sunflower Ballroom page lists an 11,000 sq ft room (102’ x 100’, 18.5’ ceiling) with a general listed maximum of 1,000 guests — the room’s overall capacity figure, not a wedding-reception-specific number — configurable as banquet, classroom, conference, hollow square, U-shape, theater or rounds, with a built-in dance floor and house sound system. A separate weddings page confirms the hotel books weddings but does not give a wedding-day capacity. On-site hotel lodging is implied by the property itself, but no guest-room count is stated on the pages reviewed. Catering/alcohol rules and accessibility are not addressed there either. Inquire via catering manager Jennifer Owen (owenj@gfhotels.com), the event team (Harmerb@gfhotels.com), or the site’s “Reserve Event Space” form.

Ask: What is the hotel’s guest-room count and room-block rate, and are outside caterers or alcohol vendors permitted in the ballroom?

Restored event space (Topeka)

Rose Wood Event Venue

Located at 3216 SW 29th Street, Topeka, KS 66614; phone (785) 230-1069, events@rosewoodvenue.com. Its site describes a restored interior with tall ceilings used for weddings, quinceañeras, proms, graduations and corporate events, with an audio/video system, banquet-style seating, and customizable linens and vendor choices. No guest-capacity figures, indoor/outdoor split, weather-backup statement, catering/alcohol rules, accessibility notes, or lodging appear on the pages reviewed. Booking is by phone, email, or a “free consultation” request form on the site.

Ask: What is the maximum seated capacity, and are outside caterers and alcohol service permitted?

Rural venues outside Topeka city limits

Apple Valley Lane Wedding and Event Center — Ozawkie, KS

This venue is physically in Ozawkie, Jefferson County (9252 Apple Valley Lane, Ozawkie, KS 66070), near Perry Lake — not inside Topeka. Its site states weddings are its specialty and lists three decks, an open-air barn, a stone ledge by a silo, a temperature-controlled indoor reception area (serving as weather backup, though the site doesn’t use that term), a bridal suite and a groom’s room. No guest-capacity figures, catering/alcohol rules, accessibility notes, or lodging are stated. The venue operates by appointment only; contact info@applevalleylane.com or 785-600-8500.

Ask: What is the maximum seated guest count for the reception area and open-air barn, and what catering/alcohol rules apply?

The Ranch House Wedding Venue and Event Center — Lyndon, KS

This venue is physically in Lyndon, Osage County (28784 S US Highway 75, Lyndon, KS 66451) — not inside Topeka, though its site calls it “a short 30-minute drive from Topeka.” The venue-spaces page lists an outdoor ceremony site (wooden pews, turf) and an indoor reception space with round tables seating up to 8 each, serving as weather backup though not labeled as such. Included: a bridal suite, a groom’s suite, and on-site lodging (“The Ranch House Lodging,” up to 20 guests). The rental package adds round tables, white linens, Chiavari chairs, cocktail tables, a two-sided bar, chair setup/teardown, and a one-hour rehearsal. No total-guest-capacity figure or catering/alcohol policy is stated. Book via the site’s “Book” link or Contact page.

Ask: What is the seated/standing capacity for the indoor reception space, and is there a written weather-contingency plan for the outdoor ceremony site?

Comparing what’s actually different

VenueActual citySettingStated capacityIndoor/outdoorNotable rule or featureOpen question
Great Overland StationTopekaHistoric train stationGrand Hall ~216 seated; East Gallery ~120 seated; The Loft 48 seatedIndoor onlyBar service + catering kitchen listedZip code discrepancy (66608 vs. 66612)
The Dillon HouseTopekaHistoric houseWest Wing ~56 seated; Study ~40 seated; Capitol View ~16 seatedIndoor onlyCoordinator, tables/chairs, AV includedCan rooms combine for larger events?
Old Prairie Town at Ward-MeadeTopekaBotanical garden + 1800s villageNot stated (brochure only)Outdoor garden/villageDedicated wedding brochure existsNo published capacity or rain plan
Kay McFarland Japanese GardenTopekaZoo garden + event buildingNot statedBothTea house + indoor Event Venue buildingNo published capacity or rain plan
Sunflower Ballroom (Hotel Topeka)TopekaHotel ballroomUp to 1,000 (room max, not confirmed wedding-specific)Indoor onlyBuilt-in dance floor, house soundGuest-room count and room-block rate unknown
Rose Wood Event VenueTopekaRestored interior hallNot statedNot statedAV system, customizable linensCapacity and catering rules unknown
Apple Valley LaneOzawkie (outside Topeka)Barn/silo propertyNot statedBoth (indoor backup)Temperature-controlled reception roomCapacity and catering/alcohol rules unknown
The Ranch HouseLyndon (outside Topeka)Ranch propertyNot stated (8/table indoor)BothOn-site lodging for up to 20; rentals includedNo total capacity or written weather plan

Comparing written proposals

Once you have a shortlist, ask each venue for the same things in writing: seated and standing capacity for your specific room or space (not the building’s total occupancy), what happens if an outdoor ceremony is rained out, which caterers and alcohol providers are allowed, what furniture and equipment are actually included versus rented separately, accessibility features, and whether lodging is on-site or nearby. Get all of it in a written proposal or contract before comparing prices — a low quoted rate that excludes tables, linens, staffing, or a rain-plan room is not necessarily cheaper than a higher one that includes them.

Sources reviewed September 10, 2026. Confirm current availability and rental terms directly.

Planning your Kansas wedding?

Try our free tools: a budget calculator with editable planning estimates and a 12-month planning checklist.

See the free tools
venuestopekaroundup